LET THERE BE LIGHT IN KASHI

I had left the Mystery hanging in the air in the previous blog titled HANGING BASKETS IN KASHI , this post is an attempt to shed light on an Enchanting Festival held ONLY in Kashi ( alias Varanasi) .

These lovely hanging baskets are raised and lowered by the means of a rope you see in the picture below. The baskets contain Oil lamps which are lit up , placed in the Basket and then raised up by the Ropes on the occasion of DEV DIWALI.

baskets-in-the-air
THE MYSTERY UNVEILED

DEV DIWALI or the “Festival of Lights of the Gods” is a celebration by the Gods who descend to the banks of The Ganges at Varanasi on a FULL MOON night exactly two weeks after DIWALI  (much like CHRISTMAS) is celebrated by mere Mortals like us across India.

The Supermoon seen alongwith Prayer bells on the banks of The Ganges on Dev Diwali.

the-supermoon-and-temple-bells
THE SUPERMOON

Thousands of Baskets containing Oil Lamps are suspended in Air whereas  the entire length of the steps or ghats that line the Ganges at Varanasi are lit up with millions of tiny terracotta lamps.

The hands of the lady clad in traditional clothes are soaked in Ghee ( oil) which fuels the Cotton Wicks.

lighting-the-oil-lamps
TERRACOTTA OIL LAMPS

It is a fascinating sight to see many miles of these Ghats or Steps, Lit up by traditional Oil lamps ( no electricity is used), have a look at a tiny section of the Ghats in the following picture.

Picture was taken from a Boat on the Ganges.

dev-diwali
Shimmering Ghats on Dev Diwali

Enchanting and Beautiful Ancient traditions followed for thousands of Years in Kashi as the people emulate the Gods in Lighting up the Skies.

 

Published by

mukul chand

51 year old entrepreneur who has traveled extensively around the world for work and pleasure , is based in New Delhi, India. A passionate traveler born with a love for flora and fauna, is an active naturalist and amateur photographer. Here he shares his unique insight into Incredible India revealing its mysterious and exotic treasures. Writing from his heart he shares his experiences as he crisscrosses this vast and amazing land.

45 thoughts on “LET THERE BE LIGHT IN KASHI”

  1. This is a nice blog but please visit and read the new ultimate theory of human relativity exclusively on My Theory also give me some feedbacks as I am hungry for it.
    From your latest follower My Theory.

    Like

  2. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll
    just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any tips for beginner blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it. http://deanaotis4106.myblog.de/deanaotis4106/art/10115454/The-Secret-For-Monster-Truck-Games-Revealed-in-5-Simple-Steps

    Like

  3. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my readers
    would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send
    me an e mail.

    Like

  4. I believe everything published was very reasonable.
    However, what about this? suppose you were to create
    a killer title? I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your website, but suppose
    you added a post title that makes people desire more?
    I mean LET THERE BE LIGHT IN KASHI – Enchanted Forests
    is kinda vanilla. You should peek at Yahoo’s home page and see how they write post titles to get people to click.
    You might add a related video or a related pic or two to grab readers excited about everything’ve written.
    Just my opinion, it might make your posts a little bit more interesting. http://totallmetalrecycling.com/three-simple-methods-to-turn-into-a-good-high-school-student

    Like

Leave a Reply

