JUMBO RIDES

Diwali or the Festival of Lights will be celebrated across India on October the 30th this year. Three weeks before Diwali, another Festival called Dusshera is celebrated which earmarks the Victory of Good over Evil.

The pictures that follow are from the magnificent Mysore Palace,Mysore, Karanataka, India  where Dusshera is celebrated with much pomp and grandeur.

Jumbos or Elephants (English), Haathi ( Hindi), Elephas maximus ( Scientific name) are at the centre of the Dusshera celebrations. ( do read previous blogs titled GENTLE GIANTS ,BABY ELEPHANTS and MAMMOTH TASK  )

They  are the guests of the Royal family for several months as a consequence of the celebrations.

You can see the historical and Grand Mysore Palace in the backdrop and a heavily decorated Male Elephant in the foreground which awaits it’s turn to go home.

mysore palace and tusker.jpg
Mysore Palace and a Tusker

The Magnificent archways of the Mysore Palace bid adieu to the Jumbos who board large Trucks for their ride home.

The Female and Male Elephants can be sized up in the picture below as they are cajoled to board the trucks .

elephant-boards-truck
Boarding a Truck

As they were guests of the Royalty of Mysore, they were fed hearty and rich meals. Consequently most of them gained close to 500 kilograms in weight.

For now the festival is over and they get ready for their Ride Home in Open Trucks.

elephant-leaves-palace
Leaving the Palace

It was by sheer chance that I photographed the entire process of transporting the Jumbos. I was looking for the oldest temple in the palace and stumbled upon an amazing sequence of a Jumbo Ride.

I think it was an unnerving experience for these Large Mammals as many of them had to be prodded and coerced to board the trucks.

I wonder was it a celebration for these Enchanting and Lovely Mammals ?

Published by

mukul chand

51 year old entrepreneur who has traveled extensively around the world for work and pleasure , is based in New Delhi, India. A passionate traveler born with a love for flora and fauna, is an active naturalist and amateur photographer. Here he shares his unique insight into Incredible India revealing its mysterious and exotic treasures. Writing from his heart he shares his experiences as he crisscrosses this vast and amazing land.

40 thoughts on “JUMBO RIDES”

  1. Very nice! I road an elephant a few years ago at the Diwali festival in my native Dallas, Texas. I agree with you about the treatment of animals. I am not sure I would ever get on an elephant again. We have one in Udaipur and I always feel bad when I see him in the old city. The setting was not as beautiful as Mysore. Beautiful photos!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Since I have lived in the Dallas area for about 30 years I must say it would be a rare experience to see elephants in Dallas nowadays! In fact, even though Texas was once the land of cowboys (and American Indians), we rarely see anyone riding a horse nowadays. Roadrunners are more common in my part of Texas. By the way, these are beautiful photographs!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Until I read your post, I always thought Jumbo was a Walt Disney name for a specific elephant. Now I understand that Jumbo is a word for elephant. Thank you, duly enlightened.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. When I first read your post I was concerned. It is much harder to honestly critique our own cultures in a balanced and fair way. I see this in my own past practices and cultural views. But you have achieved a fair appraisal Mukal, and I congratulate you for it. Festivals with their echoes of the past often become inappropriate in our more enlightened times. So while I agree that these animals are a large part of the grandeur and spectacle of India, and that in many cases that they have life-long relationships with their handlers, the sad fact is many do not and there is still exploitation and not much consideration for the animals beyond their use for humans. Thank you for your wonderful posts Mukul.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

