ATOP A HILL

It was a Journey , a short one I admit, I undertook on my own . The experiences  to my Final destination were captured  by my soul  and in part by my Camera.

Usually a spiritual awakening or a desire to overcome some troubles in our daily lives take us to places of Worship.

My trip to the 1200 year old Bhuleshwar Temple, 50 odd kilometers from Pune, was motivated by  a mix of faith and a desire to explore.

fields-and-hills
The Floral Fields and Hills of Bhuleshwar Village

I let the cool Monsoons Winds caress me while  I gazed at the awesome Beauty of Nature that spread out till the Horizons far and beyond.

I was experiencing a touch of the divine even though I had not even  seen a glimpse of the  Ancient Temple dedicated to Lord Shiva that I was heading to.

road-to-the-hill
The Path to Bhuleshwar Temple

I would strongly recommend this trip even to the staunchest atheists ,do undertake the short Journey to the Bhuleshwar Temple near Pune, Maharashtra, India.

A glorious drive through Floral farms and Nurseries , gentle rolling Hills , Monsoon clouds and a glimpse of the countryside make it a fascinating region to head out for a day trip. ( do look up an earlier post titled DEVIL’S TRUMPET )

The First Glimpse of the Ancient temple which sits atop a Rocky Hill surrounded by Spectacular views.

The Temple is dwarfed by the Enchantments of Nature, or is it a Mirage and my Imagination?

rocks-and-a-temple
The  Bhuleshwar Temple Atop the Hill

The photograph posted as the Featured Image was  taken through a window inside the  gorgeous Bhuleshwar Temple.

Keep a watch out as we continue our Journey into the Temple that sits Atop a Hill.

Published by

mukul chand

51 year old entrepreneur who has traveled extensively around the world for work and pleasure , is based in New Delhi, India. A passionate traveler born with a love for flora and fauna, is an active naturalist and amateur photographer. Here he shares his unique insight into Incredible India revealing its mysterious and exotic treasures. Writing from his heart he shares his experiences as he crisscrosses this vast and amazing land.

23 thoughts on “ATOP A HILL”

  1. I await more on this temple. I recently read that there are rituals in the Tantric tradition (especially Shaivism) used to imbue vibrations of an aspect of divinity into some stone statues and shrines. Which maybe why they feel so holy…what do you think Mukul? Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. heh heh..sorry, ones which are not possible to answer really! The source was a very reputable yogi, but I have never been one for worship of stone statues. But in this strange universe I live in… anything’s possible (and I a hard nosed scientist!!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

