PEARLS FOR FOOD

It is so  often that tiny rural roads, bereft of traffic and burly trucks , unfurl Pellets of Joy.

The narrow road from Yawat, off the Pune-Solapur Highway , Maharashtra,India,  leading to the Spectacular and Ancient Bhuleshwar Temple was one such Bundle of Joy. It winds through the most interesting agricultural fields of Food and Flowers.

green-fields
Monsoon Clouds over a Lush Bajra Field

Bajra ( Hindi) is a mineral rich, gluten free Millet which has a History of over 5000 Years in India and predates the advent of Wheat by hundreds ,nay thousands , of years.

Also known as Pearl Millet ( English), Pennisetum glaucum ( Scientific name), it forms the staple food of many a rural households in Maharashtra in the form of a Bread ( Roti)  called “Bajra Bhakri”.

fields-and-clouds
Resembling  “Pearly” Rush Reeds

I often confuse Bajra with Jowar , another millet known as Sorghum in English. Both are mineral rich millets and a wonderful alternative  for those that are Gluten Intolerant and cannot consume Cereals like Wheat.

I remember a delicious milk pudding ( usually served Hot) called ” Bajre ki  Kheer” which I had when I was younger. Little did I realize that one day I would be fortunate to see the Little Black Pearls in the Pudding growing in fields near Pune.

green-one
A Young One  emerging from a Leafy cover

Is it not Enchanting to see “Pearls Grow” ?

Published by

mukul chand

51 year old entrepreneur who has traveled extensively around the world for work and pleasure , is based in New Delhi, India. A passionate traveler born with a love for flora and fauna, is an active naturalist and amateur photographer. Here he shares his unique insight into Incredible India revealing its mysterious and exotic treasures. Writing from his heart he shares his experiences as he crisscrosses this vast and amazing land.

26 thoughts on “PEARLS FOR FOOD”

      1. Oh good! I’m always looking for simple foods with lots of calories, because I am often on the go and need fuel (but I try to choose foods which also have some nutritional content: never fast food). I’m not missing the Indian restaurant I used to live by, because I’m sure they could’ve helped me find some Bhakri! Unfortunately there aren’t as many Indian influences where I currently live (I have to struggle just to find naan bread), but I’ll definitely search for some Bhakri!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. bajra bhakri is even difficult to get in India outside the region of its origins. i wish you luck in your quest.For bajra kheer i can open my home to you whenever you happen to visit this part of the world.

        Like

Leave a Reply

