BOWLS IN A FOREST

The Dense Konni Forests in Kollam District of Kerala,India stretch over Gentle Hills which form the Southern End of the Western Ghats.

The River Kallar seen in the pictures below is one of numerous rivers and rivulets which descend from the Hills to merge into the Arabian Sea which washes the entire Coastline of Kerala.

You can cruise on Round Bowl Boats through these lovely Enchanting  Forests .

inside the boat
Submerged in a Round Boat

The only Ripples on the River are those caused by these surprisingly comfortable Coracle Boats/Rafts. ( they seat four including the boatman)  . I have my eyes peeled for Lurking Crocodiles ?

off we go
The River in the Forest

As we  float deeper into the Dense Konni Forests , tranquil waters yield way to Swirling Pools creating a Vortex in the midst of the river.

swirling pools
Swirling Pools

The River seems to force its way through Thickets of Green which cover everything in their path.

rapids
 Turbulence  in the River and a Dense Forest 

Rapids ensure a chilling thrill and a Spray of  Water on all in the Spinning  Round Boat.

Instinctively I protected My Camera by pushing it under the mandatory Orange Life Jacket I was wearing.

turbulence
Negotiating Rapids and Rocks

Thanks to the Skilled Boatsman  in the picture below who negotiated many a Rapid and gave me a ride of a Lifetime.

the boat man
The Boatman and the Bowl Boat

Have Fun on these Lovely Boats in the” Rain Forests” of Konni in Kerala. 

If lucky you may spot Elephants as well. Watch out for the next which will  showcase the Gentle Giants ( do check out a previous blog by the same title as well )

Published by

mukul chand

51 year old entrepreneur who has traveled extensively around the world for work and pleasure , is based in New Delhi, India. A passionate traveler born with a love for flora and fauna, is an active naturalist and amateur photographer. Here he shares his unique insight into Incredible India revealing its mysterious and exotic treasures. Writing from his heart he shares his experiences as he crisscrosses this vast and amazing land.

47 thoughts on “BOWLS IN A FOREST”

      1. Thank you Mukul. This year when I went to India my first time I traveled January/February, and seemed a perfect time though in Delhi and Agra it was most of the times overcast. I missed those Ayurvedic massages like in Udaipur, because of my strict budget, but I attended a cooking class, which was great.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Dharamsala ( McleodGanj is where the Dalai llama resides) is Good Round the Year. Avoid Peak summer months as there will be throngs of tourists.Oct-Nov there is an Annual film festival as well .

        Like

  1. I wanted to sail on the coracle boats and had the opportunity in Srirangapatnam but they looked nothing like in the photos – very old and rickety but today going through your post makes me want to do it . You have a beautiful blog and a lovely eye for details.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice to read of your experiences. Thank you for the compliments. While I have been to Srirangapatnam decades ago, this was a recent experience in Kerala in the midst of a forest during the monsoons. Was lovely.

      Like

  2. After study a few of the blog posts in your web site now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website record and shall be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my website as well and let me know what you think.

    Like

  3. Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar
    one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you
    can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any help is very much appreciated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

