CRIMSON BANDIT

OMG (Oh! My God),  was my first reaction when I saw a flash of Crimson through the corner of my eyes on the banks of the River Ganges at Rishikesh, Uttrakhand, India.

Tiny or small birds are extremely difficult to photograph as they are perpetually on the move. They are even tougher to identify as they look SO DIFFERENT to the pictures in Bird Books.

The gorgeous Crimson Sunbird ( English), Aethopyga siparaja ( Scientific Name) is a Sunbird native to the foothills of the Himalayas.

Hidden behind these beautiful flowering shrubs  ( will post on the same in the near future)  which have amazing medicinal uses is the beautifully hued Male Crimson Sunbird in its breeding plumage.

hidden behind flowers
Hidden amongst Flowers

I was walking along the banks of the Holy Ganges near Ram Jhula ( a suspension bridge) Rishikesh and planning to walk down to the white sands on the banks of the river when I saw these lovely flowering bushes which I recognized.

They practically cover the Hills of the region and have lovely white flowers brimming with Nectar.

The Nectar is what attracts these Amazingingly hued Sunbirds with drop dead looks.The Peacock Blue Tail glistens in the Winter Sun in the Himalayas.

I was indeed lucky to spot the Crimson Bandit with it’s head in the Cookie Jar.

nectar sipping
The Bandit dips it’s head into the Flowers of Nectar

The Male and the Female Sunbirds don differently hued plumage. Furthermore the bright Crimson Plumage is donned by the Male during the breeding season ONLY.

( do check my blog titled ECLIPSED on the Purple Sunbird in non breeding or Eclipsed plumage) .

The photographed specimen was busy collecting nectar as it flitted gracefully from flower to flower giving me an opportunity to photograph this stunning Crimson Sunbird from a height.

tiny drinks
The Rump( or Belly) is Ochre in reality

Perched delicately on the buds of the medicinal Himalayan flowers , the Crimson Sunbird shows off it’s scimitar shaped curved beak and glorious Peacock blue headgear.

Sunbirds substitute Humming Birds in this part of the World.

perched

A perfectly adapted beak to drink Nectar.

 

I am still rubbing my hands in Glee as it was the first time I had spotted and photographed this flamboyant Crimson Bandit.

It had me totally Enchanted, what about you?

Published by

mukul chand

51 year old entrepreneur who has traveled extensively around the world for work and pleasure , is based in New Delhi, India. A passionate traveler born with a love for flora and fauna, is an active naturalist and amateur photographer. Here he shares his unique insight into Incredible India revealing its mysterious and exotic treasures. Writing from his heart he shares his experiences as he crisscrosses this vast and amazing land.

28 thoughts on “CRIMSON BANDIT”

      1. I agree with your tutors. Am an amateur and am learning how to use various functions of the Camera. I was delighted as I had spotted the Crimson Sunbird for the first time and thought it best to share whatever I had captured though they are blurry.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I have a blurry picture of a bird which I am going to put up on wordpress. Unfortunately I have no idea what it is. I am still learning how to use the technology on this phone. If you have time please take a look.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. You are lucky dear Mukul. Small birds are not easy to take their pictures. But how beautiful you found and caught this amazing bird. The colours (crimson and blue) fascinated me. Himalayas is amazing place in the world… flowers and birds, and landscapes… goes on to fascinate me. Thank you dear Mukul, love, nia

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

