A TASTE OF HEAVEN

When I started blogging a month ago, I had thought I  will share my joy of  travel  within India.

Never did I think I will write on food or a restaurant within this enormous and bustling metropolis of New Delhi. This is the second of my series on a fabulous HEAVENLY experience. As I said stay ON BOARD.

However  I was punched into Heaven this Week and simply had to share the experience. I am not paid or commissioned by anyone for my writings. ( I write this as i have read many such blogs)  I blog as I wish to share the joys I  experience.

dazzled
                               dazzled

However simply block your Thursday Nights to experience a bit of Heaven.

This little statue of Lord Ganesha is nestled in a fork of a tree at the entrance.

An auspicious start
An auspicious start

Thursday night was precious as the moon was out in all its glory. We  drove  down to Qutab Minar (an 11th century Tower of Victory) located in Mehrauli , New Delhi. The drive from Qutab Minar is very interesting as you have many old buildings, restaurants and upscale designer shops along the way. A romantic drive indeed.

Even our destination is christened ONE STYLE MILE.

the moonlit driveway
the moonlit driveway

Olive Bar & Kitchen is a lovely well known eatery and very popular amongst  all  ( did i say all  ,ok rectified to many ) the residents of New  Delhi. This enormous Banyan tree is located in the midst of this beautiful house converted into a  Mediterranean look restaurant serving ITALIAN food .

Olive Bar and Kitchen
Olive Bar and Kitchen

However hold on for the surprise, we are not exactly going to Olive, but to this very sweet restaurant within OLIVE. Am sure many who have been to Olive have never even seen this little board.

A very unusual idea is this very sweet, special and exclusive  little cottage reserved ONLY on Thursday nights for 21 special guests.

ONLY 21 guests, Heaven is an exclusive club is it not ?

the unique restaurant within another restaurant Olive
the unique restaurant within another restaurant Olive

A remarkable feature is The Chefs work before your eyes to create their magic .However remember  this happens only on Thursday nights.

Kitchen to table is just a  few seconds away.

Chefs at work and the lovely kitchen
Chefs at work and the lovely kitchen

I noticed this gorgeous bowl at the bar and prepared myself for the knockout PUNCH to Heaven.

wow what a PUNCH
    wow what a PUNCH

The white carnations from the first article make a come back as we get onto a CRACKER of a start. The support to local craftsmen is evident in the lovely  little duck egg  coloured pottery vase. ( a “kulhad”  made by the local potters of Delhi)

a preview of what was to follow
a preview of what was to follow

Having played with words and got all into a twist, I unveil what we are here for and my HEAVENLY “9 STEPS TO HEAVEN”. Read on a accompany me to Heaven.

the doorway
            the doorway
Published by

mukul chand

51 year old entrepreneur who has traveled extensively around the world for work and pleasure , is based in New Delhi, India. A passionate traveler born with a love for flora and fauna, is an active naturalist and amateur photographer. Here he shares his unique insight into Incredible India revealing its mysterious and exotic treasures. Writing from his heart he shares his experiences as he crisscrosses this vast and amazing land.

3 thoughts on “A TASTE OF HEAVEN”

Leave a Reply

