TIGERS AND HISTORY

A mere three hours by train ( August Kranti from Nizamuddin to Sawai Madhopur) from New Delhi and you reach one of the most Enchanting and mesmerizing forests of  India.: Ranthambore Tiger National Park, Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan.

Ranthambore Tiger National Park has a high density of Tigers and an extremely dry deciduous forest.This  Wonderful combination almost  ensures sighting a Tiger ( English), Sher ( Hindi), Panthera tigris ( Scientific name) .

dry forest
Dry Deciduous Forest in the Month of May ( Peak Summer Month)

It is home to the famous 19 year old  Diva “Macchli” and the  Majestic Hunk  “Ustaad”.

Ustaad was unfortunately shifted to  Sajjangarh, near Udaipur after being  labelled a man eater under mysterious and controversial circumstances in May 2015.

eyes of the Tiger
The Eyes of the Tiger

The forests of Ranthambore  are nestled in the Aravalli range of mountains . The trees are adapted to the dry environment and thus relatively stunted and with smaller leaves.

The “MAGIC” of Ranthambore is the mix of History with the Forest.The Ranthambore Fort built centuries ago is today in the heart of Tiger Country.

Where else can you see Tigers in a Fort or a Palace ,now in ruins, overrun with Banyan trees.

The forest has numerous Hunting Palaces from an era gone by and is also home to a massive Ranthambore Fort.

ranthambore fort and forest
The Ramparts of the Fort in the midst of deciduous  Forest

It is also home to an unusual temple dedicated to the Elephant headed Lord Ganesha.

To date Wedding cards in Rajasthan are first addressed to the ruling deity Lord Ganesha whose blessings are a must for an auspicious start.

the road to the temple
The Lake outside the Ganesh Temple within the Ranthambore Fort

There is also a unique Hanuman ( Balaji)  temple in the midst of the “river of sorrow” , the Chambal. One bank of the river is Rajasthan and the other Madhya Pradesh.

the hanuman temple
An Open Temple in Ranthambore Fort dedicated to  Hanumanji

The flora and fauna at Ranthambore is spectacular and indeed unique.

For residents of Delhi, a walk through the Aravalli Biodiversity Park is a must before you visit Ranthambore. You can then compare an Urban Forest to a Forest of the King.

flora and fauna

What say, would you like to learn about the Flora and Fauna  of the Aravallis? Let us discover the magic together.

It has been a year since i entered the World of blogging, am now giving the initial Blogs a makeover. Many of the blogs a year ago had only 10 likes or under. I am re blogging these posts while keeping the initial  thoughts intact.

 

 

Published by

mukul chand

51 year old entrepreneur who has traveled extensively around the world for work and pleasure , is based in New Delhi, India. A passionate traveler born with a love for flora and fauna, is an active naturalist and amateur photographer. Here he shares his unique insight into Incredible India revealing its mysterious and exotic treasures. Writing from his heart he shares his experiences as he crisscrosses this vast and amazing land.

24 thoughts on “TIGERS AND HISTORY”

  1. Wow… Great post Mukund… Good to know so much about Ranthambore.. 🙂 have never been there but your post creates curiosity to visit the place.. 🙂

    Like

  2. Great post Mukund… Good to know about Ranthambore. Have never been there but your post creates curiosity to visit the place 🙂

    Like

      1. No I don’t. I’ve never looked up the meaning of that word. But it is always called Hanuman Chalisa. I went to the Hanuman temple in Taos, New Mexico once. They sang it for four hours (I think it was four….. I know it was until noon on Sunday morning.). I was in heaven!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I just hear precision didn’t think about accent. I could recognize it anyway. Where do you think she is from? People I was watching the video with thought the background looked like Kerala. I’ve wondered if she’s ever sang for Amma. I have no doubt that Amma would love listening to her.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Believe me, I understand. In the early 90’s I was listening to a cassette recording of a guru who had passed years before. I was listening to it to hear him sing Venkataramana.

        There was a song after it that brought me to tears. I wanted to learn to sing it so much but I didn’t know what it was. I took it to an Indian devotee and asked him to teach it to our satsang.

        He listened to it and told me the song was too hard for us to learn. That was like waving a red flag in front of a bull. I was even more determined to do it since he didn’t think I/we were capable.

        I eventually went to another Indian devotee. He knew the song so in secret he taught it to the satsang. When we were ready we sang it. I will never forget the look on the person’s face who told us we couldn’t do it. At first he looked shocked, then he burst into laughter. It is a treasured moment.

        It was only when we learned it that I became aware that it was the Hanuman Chalisa. I have loved it ever since. I know it by a different tune and quite a few words are pronounced differently. Many of North India b’s are v’s in South India.

        It touches my heart so much.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I have no idea what my original comments were on this post, so I won’t try to repost them. But after revisiting this page, I have new ones! India is one of the largest, most biodiverse countries on Earth; so choosing where to go there will not be easy. But if I had to prioritize one area over any other, I think I’d most like to visit Ranthambore. Its mixture of historical buildings and tigers makes it a place I’d love to spend time in!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

